Player of the Season

The following is a list of winners of Reading's Player of the Season award. The first award was based on merit scores in the Reading Chronicle, subsequent awards being voted by the fans.

1963-64: Colin Meldrum
1964-65: Colin Meldrum
1965-66: Jimmy Wheeler
1966-67: George Harris
1967-68: Mike Dixon
1968-69: Peter Silvester
1969-70: Steve Death
1970-71: Terry Bell
1971-72: Gordon Cumming
1972-73: Steve Death
1973-74: Steve Death
1974-75: Robin Friday
1975-76: Robin Friday
1976-77: Steve Death
1977-78: Richie Bowman
1978-79: Richie Bowman
1979-80: Mark White
1980-81: Steve Hetzke
1981-82: Jerry Williams
1982-83: Steve Richardson
1983-84: Steve Richardson
1984-85: Steve Wood
1985-86: Steve Wood
1986-87: Kevin Bremner
1987-88: Steve Francis
1988-89: Trevor Senior
1989-90: Martin Hicks
1990-91: Keith McPherson
1991-92: Mick Gooding
1992-93: Mick Gooding
1993-94: Dylan Kerr
1994-95: Shaka Hislop
1995-96: Mick Gooding
1996-97: Trevor Morley
1997-98: Phil Parkinson
1998-99: Phil Parkinson
1999-00: Darren Caskey
2000-01: Martin Butler
2001-02: Graeme Murty
2002-03: James Harper
2003-04: Graeme Murty
2004-05: Dave Kitson
2005-06: Kevin Doyle
2006-07: Ívar Ingimarsson
2007-08: Stephen Hunt
2008-09: Chris Armstrong
2009-10: Gylfi Sigurðsson
2010-11: Shane Long
2011-12: Alex Pearce
2012-13: Adam Le Fondre
2013-14: Jordan Obita
2014-15: Adam Federici
2015-16: Ali Al-Habsi
2016-17: Ali Al-Habsi
2017-18: Liam Moore
2018-19: Andy Rinomhota
2019-20: Rafael Cabral

Steve Death leads the way with four wins, followed by Mick Gooding with three, and Colin Meldrum, Robin Friday, Richie Bowman, Steve Richardson, Steve Wood, Phil Parkinson, Graeme Murty and Ali Al-Habsi with two each. The general preference seems to be for effort over skill, with goalkeepers also showing well. For example, Michael Gilkes never won, despite me voting for him every year, and Trevor Senior in 1983-84 and Jimmy Quinn in 1993-94 missed out despite scoring over forty goals.

There was also a Player of the Year award in the the early part of the century, based on performances in the calendar year, with Nicky Forster picking up the award in the first two years.

2002: Nicky Forster
2003: Nicky Forster
2004: Dave Kitson
2005: Ibrahima Sonko

Back to Complete Record