Anglo-Scottish Cup


The Texaco Cup was a competition for English, Scottish, Northern Irish and Southern Irish clubs who had not qualified for Europe. The Irish teams withdrew after the first couple of seasons, and the competition was renamed the Anglo-Scottish Cup when Texaco's sponsorship ended. It continued until the Scottish clubs withdrew in 1981, being replaced by the Football League Group Cup.

Texaco Cup Finals

1970-71 Heart of Midlothian1/1 Wolverhampton W3/0
1971-72 Airdrieonians0/1 Derby County0/2
1972-73 Ipswich Town2/2 Norwich City1/1
1973-74 Newcastle United21 Burnley11
1974-75 Southampton1/0 Newcastle United0/3
1 after extra time

Anglo-Scottish Cup Finals

1975-76 Middlesbrough1/0 Fulham0/0
1976-77 Orient1/0 Nottingham Forest1/4
1977-78 St Mirren1/1 Bristol City2/1
1978-79 Oldham Athletic0/1 Burnley4/0
1979-80 Bristol City0/1 St Mirren2/3
1980-81 Chesterfield1/11 Notts County0/11
1 after extra time