World War II Cups

War League Cup

The main cup competition during the Second World War was the War League Cup. This was organised into two sections corresponding to the Northern and Southern War Leagues with a play-off between the winners. The exception was in 1941-42 when the London Cup Winners, Brentford, were the southern representatives. The competition was discontinued in 1945-46 in favour of an extended FA Cup – the ties up to the semi-finals being played over two legs.

1939-40 F West Ham United1 Blackburn Rovers0
1940-41 F Arsenal1/1 Preston North End1/2
1941-42 F Sunderland2/1 Wolverhampton W2/4
PO Brentford1 Wolverhampton W1
1942-43 S Arsenal7 Charlton Athletic1
N Blackpool2/2 Sheffield Wednesday2/1
PO Blackpool4 Arsenal2
1943-44 S Charlton Athletic3 Chelsea1
N Blackpool2/2 Aston Villa1/4
PO Charlton Athletic1 Aston Villa1
1944-45 S Chelsea2 Millwall0
N Bolton Wanderers1/2 Manchester United0/2
PO Chelsea1 Bolton Wanderers2

London War Cup

The London War Cup was first organised in 1940-41 and reflected the dissatisfaction of teams from London and the South East with the structure of the War League. Reading were the inaugural winners, beating Brentford 3-2 at Stamford Bridge. With the formation of the London War League in 1941-42 it became the main cup competition in the South of England. It was then discontinued as the London War League rejoined the main War League in 1942-43.

1940-41 F READING3 Brentford2
1941-42 F Brentford2 Portsmouth0

Division 3 Regional League Cups

In 1945-46 Division 3 North and South were each divided into two regional sections. In addition to a round of League games, these sections also played qualifying groups for two regional League Cups. The results of the Southern semi-finals and final were as follows:

1945-46 SF Bournemouth & BA1/1 Queens Park Rangers1/0
SF Bristol Rovers1 Walsall3
F Bournemouth & BA1 Walsall0

While the result of the Northern final was:

1945-46 F Rotherham United2/3 Chester2/2