Southern League Champions

Southern League Division 1 1894-1920

The old Division 1 was founded in 1894 and incorporated into the Football League in 1920.

Champions Runners-up
1894-95 Millwall Athletic Luton Town
1895-96 Millwall Athletic Luton Town
1896-97 Southampton St Mary Millwall Athletic
1897-98 Southampton Bristol City
1898-99 Southampton Bristol City
1899-00 Tottenham Hotspur Portsmouth
1900-01 Southampton Bristol City
1901-02 Portsmouth Tottenham Hotspur
1902-03 Southampton READING
1903-04 Southampton Tottenham Hotspur
1904-05 Bristol Rovers READING
1905-06 Fulham Southampton
1906-07 Fulham Portsmouth
1907-08 Queens Park Rangers Plymouth Argyle
1908-09 Northampton Town Swindon Town
1909-10 Brighton & Hove A Swindon Town
1910-11 Swindon Town Northampton Town
1911-12 Queens Park Rangers Plymouth Argyle
1912-13 Plymouth Argyle Swindon Town
1913-14 Swindon Town Crystal Palace
1914-15 Watford READING
1915-19 no competition
1919-20 Portsmouth Watford

Southern League 1920-36

The loss of the old Division 1 left the Southern League with a rump of Welsh teams from the old Division 2, a handful of English teams, and the reserve elevens of its old members. It organised these into two regional sections (English and Welsh) with the top two teams playing off for the championship. When an economic depression decimated the Welsh section in 1923, the two sections were reorganised as East and West.

Champions Runners-up
1920-21 Brighton & HA ResEn1/2 BarryWa1/1
1921-22 Plymouth Arg ResEn3 Ebbw ValeWa0
1922-23 Ebbw ValeWa2 Bristol City ResEn1
1923-24 Yeovil & Petters UW3 Peterborough & FUE1
1924-25 Southampton ResE2 Swansea Town ResW1
1925-26 Plymouth Arg ResW1 Millwall ResE0
1926-27 Brighton & HA ResE4 Torquay UnitedW0
1927-28 Kettering TownE5 Bristol City ResW0
1928-29 Plymouth Arg ResW4 Kettering TownE2
1929-30 Aldershot TownE3 Bath CityW2
1930-31 DartfordE7 Exeter City ResW2
1931-32 DartfordE2 Yeovil & Petters UW1
1932-33 Norwich City ResE2 Bath CityW1
1933-34 Plymouth Arg ResW2/3 Norwich City ResE2/0
1934-35 Norwich City ResE2/7 Yeovil & Petters UW2/2
1935-36 MargateE3 Plymouth Arg ResW1

Central Section 1933-36

There was also a supplementary tournament called the Central Section uniting teams from the Eastern and Western Sections held between 1933 and 1936.

Champions Runners-up
1933-34 Plymouth Arg Res Clapton Orient Res
1934-35 Folkestone Guildford City
1935-36 Margate Bristol Rovers Res

Southern League 1936-59

A unified First Division was reintroduced in 1936 and continued with the exception of the truncated 1939-40 season until 1958-59, when plans for a second division necessitated a transitional season with two sections (South East and North West), the top half of each section qualifying for the new Premier Division and the rest for the First Division.

Champions Runners-up
1936-37 Ipswich Town Norwich City Res
1937-38 Guildford City Plymouth Arg Res
1938-39 Colchester United Guildford City
1939-401 Chelmsford CityE Lovells AthleticW
1940-45 no competition
1945-46 Chelmsford City Hereford United
1946-47 Gillingham Guildford City
1947-48 Merthyr Tydfil Gillingham
1948-49 Gillingham Chelmsford City
1949-50 Merthyr Tydfil Colchester United
1950-51 Merthyr Tydfil Hereford United
1951-52 Merthyr Tydfil Weymouth
1952-53 Headington United Merthyr Tydfil
1953-54 Merthyr Tydfil Headington United
1954-55 Yeovil Town Weymouth
1955-56 Guildford City Cheltenham Town
1956-57 Kettering Town Bedford Town
1957-58 Gravesend & N'fleet Bedford Town
1958-592 Bedford TownSE Hereford UnitedNW
1 title shared following 3-3 draw in play-off
2 Bedford beat Hereford 2-1 in play-off

Midweek Section 1936-39

There was also a supplementary tournament called the Midweek Section held between 1936 and 1939.

Champions Runners-up
1936-37 Margate Bath City
1937-38 Millwall Res Colchester United
1938-39 Tunbridge Wells R Colchester United

Southern League Premier Division 1959-79

The Southern League Premier Division continued from 1959 until 1979 when the top teams again broke away, together with those from the Northern Premier League, to form the Alliance Premier League. The top teams from the Isthmian League only joined later, as the Alliance Premier League became the Conference in 1986.

Champions Runners-up
1959-60 Bath City Headington United
1960-61 Oxford United Chelmsford City
1961-62 Oxford United Bath City
1962-63 Cambridge City Cambridge United
1963-64 Yeovil Town Chelmsford City
1964-65 Weymouth Guildford City
1965-66 Weymouth Chelmsford City
1966-67 Romford Nuneaton Borough
1967-68 Chelmsford City Wimbledon
1968-69 Cambridge United Hillingdon Borough
1969-70 Cambridge United Yeovil Town
1970-71 Yeovil Town Cambridge City
1971-72 Chelmsford City Hereford United
1972-73 Kettering Town Yeovil Town
1973-74 Dartford Grantham
1974-75 Wimbledon Nuneaton Borough
1975-76 Wimbledon Yeovil Town
1976-77 Wimbledon Minehead
1977-78 Bath City Weymouth
1978-79 Worcester City Kettering Town

Southern League 1979-82

The loss of teams to the Alliance Premier League led to the remaining Premier Division and First Division teams being re-organised into two sections (Midlands and South) for a couple of seasons with the overall champions being decided by a play-off.

Champions Runners-up
1979-80 Bridgend TownM3/2 Dorchester TownS0/0
1980-81 AlvechurchM1/21 DartfordS0/31
1981-82 WealdstoneS0/22 Nuneaton BoroughM1/12
1 Alvechurch won 4-3 on penalties
2 Wealdstone won 3-2 on penalties

Southern League Premier Division 1982-2018

A unified Premier Division was re-introduced in 1982. There was a further exodus of teams in 2004 as the Conference added Southern and Northern divisions below the National section, becoming the National League in 2015. This left the Southern League Premier Division at Level VII of the Football Pyramid.

Champions Runners-up
1982-83 AP Leamington Kidderminster Harriers
1983-84 Dartford Fisher Athletic
1984-85 Cheltenham Town King's Lynn
1985-86 Welling United Chelmsford City
1986-87 Fisher Athletic Bromsgrove Rovers
1987-88 Aylesbury United Dartford
1988-89 Merthyr Tydfil Dartford
1989-90 Dover Athletic Bath City
1990-91 Farnborough Town Gloucester City
1991-92 Bromsgrove Rovers Dover Athletic
1992-93 Dover Athletic Cheltenham Town
1993-94 Farnborough Town Cheltenham Town
1994-95 Hednesford Town Cheltenham Town
1995-96 Rushden & Diamonds Halesowen Town
1996-97 Gresley Rovers Cheltenham Town
1997-98 Forest Green Rovers Merthyr Tydfil
1998-99 Nuneaton Borough Boston United
1999-00 Boston United Burton Albion
2000-01 Margate Burton Albion
2001-02 Kettering Town Tamworth
2002-03 Tamworth Stafford Rangers
2003-04 Crawley Town Weymouth
2004-05 Histon Chippenham Town
2005-06 Salisbury City Bath City
2006-07 Bath City Team Bath
2007-08 King's Lynn Team Bath
2008-09 Corby Town Farnborough Town
2009-10 Farnborough Town Nuneaton Town
2010-11 Truro City Hednesford Town
2011-12 Brackley Town Oxford City
2012-13 Leamington Stourbridge
2013-14 Hemel Hempstead Chesham United
2014-15 Corby Town Poole Town
2015-16 Poole Town Redditch United
2016-17 Chippenham Town Leamington
2017-18 Hereford FC King's Lynn Town

Southern League Premier Division 2018-23

The Premier Division was once again split into regional sections (Central and South) in 2018 with the overall champions being decided by a play-off.

Champions Runners-up
2018-19 WeymouthS11 Kettering TownC11
2019-21 no competition
2021-22 Banbury UnitedCP2 Taunton TownSP2
2022-23 Weston-super-MareSP3 TamworthCP3
1 Weymouth won 5-3 on penalties
2 Taunton withdrew from Championship play-off
3 Tamworth withdrew from Championship play-off